Login Register

Outstanding members of the community recognised in Camborne

By West Briton  |  Posted: May 30, 2013

  • Former Camborne town council members with their awards, from left, Helene and Stuart Cullimore, John Beare, Jean Charman and Charlotte Trengrove.

Comments (0)

HARDWORKING members of the community in Camborne have been recognised.

At the annual town assembly, three people were presented with town plaques.

Camborne, Pool and Redruth Foodbank co-ordinator Don Gardner was recognised for his outstanding work with the charity in Camborne.

Gaynor Hingston was recognised for her outstanding contribution to preserving Camborne's heritage, while Eunice Woolcock was given the award in recognition of her outstanding promotion of Cornwall's iconic pasty.

Meanwhile five retiring councillors who have served at least two terms were also recognised – Charlotte Trengove (1995-2013), John Beare (2000-2013), Stuart Cullimore (2000-2013), Helene Cullimore (2002-2013) and former mayor Jean Charman (2005-2013).

In addition the mayor's award was presented to David Oates for his outstanding work helping communities in the parish.

The final award, Sid Godolphin award, went to William Kevern for his outstanding achievements in art through dance.

Read more from West Briton

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters