Login Register

Nowell to stay at St George's Park with England team

By Rhod_Mitchell  |  Posted: February 11, 2014

Jack Nowell looks to pass the ball during the RBS Six Nations match against Scotland at Murrayfield

Comments (0)

Newlyn's Jack Nowell will stay with the rest of the England starting XV from the Calcutta Cup win over Scotland at Murrayfield for training St George’s Park on Wednesday and Thursday morning.

England this afternoon also released 18 players back to their Aviva Premiership clubs ahead of this weekend’s Round 14.

The whole squad will return to Pennyhill Park on Sunday evening to prepare for the RBS 6 Nations match against Ireland on Saturday week.

England Head Coach Stuart Lancaster said: “We have reviewed the Scotland game with the whole squad and, while pleasing in many aspects, we have identified the areas we need to work on.

“There are some inevitable knocks from the weekend but nothing that we anticipate will keep players out of contention for the Ireland game.

“The replacements will return to their Premiership clubs and be available to play this weekend which will give them valuable game time.”

Nowell gave an impressive display in the 20-0 win over Scotland, including providing the scoring pass for Mike Brown's second half try.

Players retained at St George’s Park

Mike Brown (Harlequins)

Luther Burrell (Northampton Saints)

Danny Care (Harlequins)

Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers)

Owen Farrell (Saracens)

Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints)

Joe Launchbury (London Wasps)

Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints)

Joe Marler (Harlequins)

Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby)

Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs)

Chris Robshaw (Harlequins)

Billy Twelvetrees (Gloucester Rugby)

Billy Vunipola (Saracens)

Tom Wood (Northampton Saints)

Players returning to Aviva Premiership clubs

Chris Ashton (Saracens)

David Attwood (Bath Rugby)

Brad Barritt (Saracens)

Freddie Burns (Gloucester Rugby)

Lee Dickson (Northampton Saints)

Kyle Eastmond (Bath Rugby)

George Ford (Bath Rugby)

Alex Goode (Saracens)

Matt Kvesic (Gloucester Rugby)

Tom Johnson (Exeter Chiefs)

Ben Morgan (Gloucester Rugby)

Matt Mullan (London Wasps)

Ed Slater (Leicester Tigers)

Henry Thomas (Sale Sharks)

Mako Vunipola (Saracens)

Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby)

Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers)

Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers.)

Read more from West Briton

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters