Login Register

Nowell named in unchanged England side for Italy showdown

By Rhod_Mitchell  |  Posted: March 13, 2014

Jack Nowell

Comments (0)

Cornwall's Jack Nowell is part of an unchanged England team which will take on Italy in Rome on Saturday in their final RBS Six Nations game of the season.

It will be the fifth straight England cap for England Chiefs winger Nowell, who comes from Newlyn, and has also played for the Cornish Pirates and Redruth.

The XV who beat Wales at Twickenham are retained, while there is just one change on the bench where Manusamoa Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers) replaces Alex Goode (Saracens).

England Head Coach Stuart Lancaster said: “It’s great to be able to name an unchanged XV and we have been able to achieve consistency of selection from a very competitive squad this campaign.

“The Wales result was very significant for us but we need to finish the tournament well in Rome. We have had a tight turnaround and the key this week has been to manage the players’ recovery and get them in the best shape for what will be a tough match against Italy.”

England need to beat Italy by as big a margin as possible and hope for the result in the France v Ireland game to go their way if they are to lift the Championship.

England (v Italy, RBS 6 Nations, Stadio Olimpico, Saturday, 12.30pm GMT, live on BBC Sport)

15 Mike Brown (Harlequins, 25 caps)

14 Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs, 4 caps)

13 Luther Burrell (Northampton Saints, 4 caps)

12 Billy Twelvetrees (Gloucester Rugby, 12 caps)

11 Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby, 5 caps)

10 Owen Farrell (Saracens, 23 caps)

9 Danny Care (Harlequins, 46 caps)

1 Joe Marler (Harlequins, 19 caps)

2 Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints, 54 caps)

3 David Wilson (Bath Rugby, 33 caps)

4 Joe Launchbury (London Wasps, 18 caps)

5 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 29 caps)

6 Tom Wood (Northampton Saints, 27 caps)

7 Chris Robshaw (Harlequins, capt, 24 caps)

8 Ben Morgan (Gloucester Rugby, 19 caps)


16 Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 16 caps)

17 Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 14 caps)

18 Henry Thomas (Sale Sharks, 5 caps)

19 Dave Attwood (Bath Rugby, 9 caps)

20 Tom Johnson (Exeter Chiefs, 6 caps)

21 Lee Dickson (Northampton Saints, 15 caps)

22 George Ford (Bath Rugby, 1 cap)

23 Manusamoa Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers, 21 caps)

Matt Mullan (London Wasps) and Kyle Eastmond (Bath Rugby) will travel with the squad as 24th and 25th men.

Read more from West Briton

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters