Login Register

Magpies appoint Flack and Watt in joint charge

By Nath_Richards  |  Posted: June 22, 2012

Comments (0)

PENZANCE AFC have appointed former Truro City reserve team bosses Robin Watt and Steve Flack as new joint managers of the club's Carlsberg SWPL Premier Division side.

Flack, who turned out for Wimbledon's youth team and Woking during his playing career, had a short spell in charge of Division One West side Wadebridge Town last season before being replaced by Mark Menhinick in November.

Watt's most recent spell in management was at Jolly's Combination League side Wendron United, who he led to a respectable mid-table finish last season.

The duo take over the reins at Penlee Park from Gary Marks, whose second spell in charge of the Magpies was ended by mutual consent after a turbulent 2011-2012 campaign dogged by injuries saw the club narrowly avoid finishing in the bottom two.

An official statement released from club secretary John Mead this morning said: "The Club is delighted that Robin and Steve have decided to join us and are greatly looking forward to the coming season.
"We would also like to thank all those who declared an interest in taking up the position - it's nice to know that Penzance retains its popularity."

For full story and more local football see next week's Cornishman Sport.

* Meanwhile, Penzance reserves have been accepted into the Trelawny League premier division for the coming season, following their relegation from the Jolly's Cornwall Combination League.
The full premier division line-up is: Carharrack, Constantine, Falmouth Albion, Gulval, Gwinear Churchtown, Holmans SC, Illogan Res, Mawnan, Mousehole Res, Penzance Res, Perranwell Res, Redruth United, St Agnes Res, St Buryan, St Keverne and Threemilestone.

Other Trelawny League divisions:
Division One:
Chacewater, Halsetown, Camborne SoM, St Day Res, Newlyn NA, Portreath, Perranporth Res, Helston Athletic Res, Lizard Argyle, West Cornwall, Stithians, Praze-an-Beeble, Sennen, Trevenson United, Rosudgeon, and St Just Res.

Division Two: Titans, Mullion Res, Cury, Madron, Illogan RBL III, Falmouth Athletic DC Res, RNAS Culdrose Res, Wendron United Res, Frogpool/Cusgarne, St Ives Town Res, Storm, Trispen, Hayle III, Penryn Athletic III, Halsetown Res and Threemilestone Res.

Division Three: Lanner, Holmans Res, Wendron III, Ruan Minor, Mawnan Res, Goonhavern Res, Porthleven Rangers, Chacewater Res, Mousehole III, St Agnes III, Gulval Res, Redruth United Res, St Day III, St Buryan Res, Pendeen Res and Troon Res.

Division Four: West Cornwall Res, Hayle IV, Wendron United IV, Newquay III, Newlyn NA Res, Carharrack Res, Constantine Res, Madron Res, Praze-an-Beeble Res, St Ives Mariners, Mullion III, Lizard Argyle Res, Frogpool/Cusgarne Res, Four Lanes, Redruth Athletic and Marazion Blues.

Division Five: Trelander, Stithians Res,Newquay IV, Troon III, Ludgvan Res, Trevenson United Res, Storm Res, Newlyn Dolphin Res, Gwinear Churchtown Res, Camborne Park, Helston Athletic III, Mabe, Marazion Blues Res, St Erme, Clipper Bar Inn, Penwith Exiles.

Read more from West Briton

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters
  • Nath_Richards  |  June 22 2012, 1:00PM

    UPDATE - Holmans earn reprieve: At Thursday night's Jolly's Combination League AGM, clubs voted to increase the league by one club. That means Holmans SC will NOT now be relegated, despite the Combo officials allegedly informing the Trelawny League officials that both Penzance and Holmans would be relegated. It is understood that the Trelawny League will meet again on Tuesday to decide whether to run with 15 clubs in the Premier League or promote another club, which would then probably apply to all divisions.