Login Register

Holmans escape relegation after vote

By West Briton  |  Posted: June 28, 2012

Comments (0)

THE Jolly's Cornwall Combination League held its management committee meeting last Thursday, followed by the annual meeting, with all clubs represented, writes Paul Smith.

At the committee meeting, clubs were asked if they could afford to be so lax with their paperwork as a total £240 of fines were handed to clubs for late or incorrect team sheets.

Several clubs were fined for not notifying results to the fixtures secretary and £137 of fines were meted out to clubs for not having qualified assistant referees.

The league then went onto its annual meeting

After a minute's silence for those in the footballing family who had passed away during the year, the most important event of the night was a plea by Holman SC for the clubs to pass a vote to increase the number of teams in the league back from 19 to 20. This would prevent them joining Penzance in the Trelawny League next season. By a majority of 13-6 it was agreed, so along with newly promoted clubs Goonhavern Athletic and Ludgvan, Holmans will again be playing senior football next season.

Penzance secretary John Mead was made a Life Member of the league for all his hard work over the years and this was greeted with a chorus of approval.


Over the past season the league were told that income over expenditure showed a healthy £700 profit after a loss of just under £1,000 the previous season, perhaps helped by the £1,700 of fines the clubs had to pay. There were 937 registered players, a decrease of 123 on the previous season.

St Just boss Steve Curnow will manage the league's representative side, assisted by Martyn Kimmins of St Agnes. Unfortunately the team didn't have a game last season but it is hoped that matches against the ECPL, SWPL Division One West and Naval Air Command could be organised during the new campaign.

Finally the trophies and shields were handed out, including a new award, the Nigel Jolly Trophy (presented to the league for 25 continuous years of sponsorship by Jolly's) for the top goal scorer which went to Dominic Pullen (Illogan).

It was also announced there would be a new Respect Trophy, donated by league chairman Vidal James, which will be won by the team who had the fewest red and yellow cards next season.

Jolly's CCL 2011-2012 awards: Sporting trophy: Winners: Penryn; runners-up: Penzance; third: Mullion. Trembath Shield (best referee): Paul Windle (St Just). Assistant referees' award: Steve Searle (St Day).

Fred Malone Cup (team apart from the champions to score most goals): Falmouth Athletic.

Nigel Jolly Trophy (top goalscorer): Dominic Pullen (Illogan).

League Cup draw: preliminary round draw: Pendeen v Newquay, St Just v St Agnes, Goonhavern v Hayle, Wendron v Ludgvan. First round: Penryn v Pendeen/Newquay, Falmouth Athletic v Perranwell, Culdrose v Mullion, Illogan v Wendron/Ludgvan, Falmouth Town v Holmans, Troon v Goonhavern/Hayle, St Ives v Porthleven and St Day v St Just/St Agnes.

Read more from West Briton

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters