Login Register

Falmouth Town's 2014 unbeaten run ended by St Austell

By Lee_Hall  |  Posted: March 18, 2014

Comments (0)

Falmouth Town 0, St Austell 3

Falmouth Town's unbeaten start to 2014 was finally brought to an end at Bickland Park on Tuesday night as St Austell continued their recent revival.

Town ended the game with ten men after Harry Evans was sent off in injury time following a second booking, while St Austell boss Phil Lafferty was sent to the stands in the second half for comments made to assistant referee Paul Murphy.

After a fairly tepid first half Theo Stubbs lit up the game with a stunning volley in the 66th minute to give St Austell the lead.

Chris Reski doubled their advantage after 77 minutes with a cool finish, before Martin Watts drove home St Austell's third in the 80th minute.

A disappointing second half from Falmouth was compounded when Evans was sent off after he received a second yellow card for a foul on Martin Giles.

Falmouth: D Burrows, E Timmons, D Batchelor (J Webb 81), T Whipp, J Cooper, R Pope, D Richardson (J Robertson 73), G Bell, R Wearne (B Allen 88), A Westgarth, H Evans.

St Austell: J Chapman, D Lean, M Watts (M Giles 81), C Pople, L Whetter, B Williams, C Reski, J Dingle, C Rickard (M Body 76), T Stubbs (D Nancarrow 80), W Tinsley. Sub (not used): B Douglas.

Referee: Nigel D'Arcy.

Other results: Carlsberg premier: Cullompton 1 Exmouth 3; Elburton 0 Saltash Utd 2; Torpoint 0 St Blazey 3.

Division One West: Wadebridge Town 2 Porthleven 3.

Throgmorton cup quarter-final: Plymouth Parkway 3 Bodmin Town 1 (Parkway play Godolphin in semi-final at Launceston on Wednesday April 2).

Read more from West Briton

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters