Login Register

Cricket: Gulval through to Runciman Cup final

By Nath_Richards  |  Posted: July 19, 2013

Comments (0)

Goldsithney 144-2, Gulval 145-1,

Gulval will play St Just in Monday's Runciman Cup final at Penzance after beating Goldsithney by nine wickets at a sunny St Clare on Thursday evening.

Goldsithney, who knocked out holders Halsetown in the quarter finals batted first and posted a total of 144 for two off their allotted 20 overs. Giles Lawrence top scored with 92 while youngster Scott Stevens contributed 21.

Gulval lost veteran former Penzance and Cornwall opener Nigel Cock early in their reply, but Goldsithney's cup hopes were ended by Tom Curnow who carried his bat for a superb 80no, while Alex Westren finished unbeaten on 46 as Gulval reached their target with three overs to spare.

Gulval, who last won the competition in 2005 now meet 2011 winners St Just in the final at St Clare on Monday July 22 at 6pm, with Thursday the reserve date in the event of wet weather.

The Runciman Cup is a magnificent trophy, with the final an important event in the local sporting calendar. Hayle were the first winners, way back in 1934.

Engraved upon the trophy is the wording 'Penzance Cricket Club – Sportsmen's Cup – presented by Rt Hon Walter Runciman, MP'.

Runciman Cup winners (last 10 years):

2012: Halsetown bt St Buryan

2011: St Just bt Penzance

2010: St Levan bt Ludgvan

2009: Halsetown bt St Levan

2008: Ludgvan bt Halsetown

2007: Ludgvan bt Paul

2006: Halsetown bt St Ives

2005: Gulval bt St Levan

2004: Gulval bt Paul

2003: Long Rock bt Gulval

Read more from West Briton

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters