Login Register

Cornwall's Hilton keeps place in England Counties squad

By Rhod_Mitchell  |  Posted: February 13, 2014

Comments (0)

Cornwall and Cornish all Blacks forward Ben Hilton has retained his place in the England Counties XV squad for the international against Ireland Clubs XV at Darlington’s Mowden Park’s Northern Echo Arena on Friday February 21 (7.30pm).

The squad though shows five changes from the one that suffered a narrow defeat by France Federal.

Wharfedale number eight Rob Baldwin returns to the squad having missed the game in Nevers two weeks ago through suspension after he accumulated three yellow cards for foul play this season.

Baldwin has now completed his one week suspension but Fylde fly-half Chris Johnson, who replaced him as captain in France, will lead the side again at Darlington.

Stourbridge prop Mark George, Old Albanians back row forward Ollie Cooper-Millar, and Fylde prop Adam Lewis have been added to the forwards.

Old Albanians scrum-half Stefan Liebenberg has recovered from the injury that ruled him out of the France defeat and he returns in the backs.

Millar-Cooper and Lewis are in line to make their England Counties debuts but Baldwin, George and Liebenberg all have previous experience with the side, the representative flagship of the community game in England. George started for England Counties in all three of their internationals last season but was unavailable for the France match.

Exmouth's Richard Bolt retains his place in the squad.

England Counties XV squad v Ireland Clubs XV: Backs: Jack Adams (Cinderford), Richard Bolt (Exmouth), Chris Briers (Fylde), Chris Johnson (Fylde – captain), Stefan Liebenberg (Old Albanians), Cameron Mitchell (Darlington Mowden Park), Luke Myring (Coventry), Kiba Richards (Worthing), Sean Taylor (Preston Grasshoppers), Jim Wigglesworth (Cambridge).

Forwards: Rob Baldwin (Wharfedale), Ollie Cooper-Millar (Old Albanians), Jamal Ford-Robinson (Cambridge), Mark George (Stourbridge), Ben Hilton (Launceston), Gavin Jones (Blaydon), Robbie Kalbriaer (Blaydon), Adam Lewis (Fylde), Johnny Matthews (Sedgley Park), Brett McNamee (Old Albanians), Pierce Phillips (Darlington Mowden Park), Tom Stradwick (Blackheath), Chris Wearmouth (Blaydon).

Read more from West Briton

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters