Login Register

Cornwall Solo Grass Track host British Championships

By Cornish Guardian  |  Posted: July 06, 2012

  • SLIP SLIDING: An awkward moment for Cornwall's Josh Dingle during the ACU British Championships. by Nicholas Truscott.

Comments (0)

CORNWALL Solo Grass Track hosted the ACU British Championships at Penscawen Farm, Summercourt.

The Championships featured some of the country's top riders in the 250cc and 350cc Solo and 500cc and 1000cc Left Hand Sidecar classes.

The meeting format saw riders take part in a number of heats followed by semi-finals and finals with the result determined on overall points.

After heavy overnight rain the meeting looked in doubt but the clubs forethought to have all the necessary equipment available ensured that the track could be prepared to a standard that allowed the meeting to go ahead. With the rain staying away the full program was completed.

The 250cc solo class saw five different race winners through the heats, with impressive 15-year-old James Shanes winning three out of three to lead the point scorers going into the semi finals.

Other race winners were Harland Cook and Georgie Wood with two apiece and Steve Darvill and Danny Boyle with one apiece.

Boyle was unable to take his place in the semi-finals after crashing out of the third leg. The first semi-final saw Georgie Wood head home James Shanes and Adam Shipp whilst in the second semi Harland Cook crossed the line first ahead of Ben Ilsley and Steve Darvill. These results left Harland Cook, Georgie Wood and James Shanes tied on points going into a dramatic final. Cook took the chequered flag and with it a third title in four years. Georgie Wood crossed the line second.

The 350cc solo class saw six different race winners in the heats. Andrew Mellish claimed three race wins in the heats to lead points going into the semi finals.

Local rider Josh Dingle, from Summercourt, claimed two race wins with four others taking a win apiece, Tom Perry, Matt Etherington, Harland Cook and Georgie Wood.

The first semi-final saw controversy after the Clerk of the Course excluded Richard Smith after Andy Mellish fell when the two got close going into the top bend on the last lap. The result was initially called with Andy Mellish awarded the win, with Georgie Wood second and Mark Taylor third. Richard Smith contested the decision he was reinstated to the result in second place.

The second semi-final saw Chris Johnson claim his first win of the day.

The final saw Cook complete a double in the finals heading home Smith and Johnson.

The final positions saw Andrew Mellish claim the title ahead of Cook and Johnson.

Nine crews lined up in the 500cc sidecar class with six claiming race wins.

Scott Dunn and Christian Schadler took the flag three times but were excluded for unfair riding in leg four which combined with a big crash in leg three ended their participation in the day.

Also taking two wins were Shaun Harvey & Danny Hogg. Simon Beard & Carl Daw, Barry Bennett & Eifion Hughes, Nick & Abi Radley and David Carvill & Karl Webb taking a win apiece. Going into the final the top five were split by just three points. Harvey & Hogg claimed the final and with it a seventh title in nine years. Nick and Abi Radley crossed in second to claim second overall with fifth enough for Bennett & Hughes to take third overall.

The 1000cc sidecars saw eight crews in the line up. Again the meeting proved competitive with four crews claiming wins in the heats.

Overall winner was defending three times champion David Penfold & Richard Webb reeled off four wins.

Cornwall Solo Grass Track Club hosted an afternoon of youth racing on Saturday as a prelude to the main event.

Unfortunately a heavy shower after the second round of heats forced the club to curtail the programme to four legs instead of six in order to preserve the track for Sunday's main event.

The combined Auto Cadets and Cadets class saw Leo Dummett, racing in the Cadets class, claim all four race wins ahead of Auto Cadets Jack Bree and Perry Williams.

In the Juniors Kyle Bickley made the long trip from Cumbria worthwhile claiming all four race wins in impressive style, often coming through the field to do so.

A couple of second places saw Callan Phillips claim second overall with Jack Dummett taking third after taking the other two second place finishes. Henry Atkins had looked set for third overall until a broken chain forced him to retire for the final leg.

The Inters saw a three way battle for race wins with Callum Walker taking two together with two seconds to claim first place overall.

Rhos Williams claimed second overall with a win, two seconds and a third. Saul Bulley showed the importance of scoring in every leg to claim third overall.

Connor Locke was the other race winner bur rules out of contention with a fall in the second leg and forced to retire from the final leg after losing visibility in a tight first corner.

Only two Moto-X bikes took to the track in the MX classes with Anders Rowe comfortably beating Piran Crook on each occasion. The riders voted Kyle Bickley as the rider of the day.

Read more from West Briton

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters