Login Register

Camborne prove too strong for Wadebridge in Cornwall Cup final

By Rhod_Mitchell  |  Posted: March 30, 2013

Comments (0)

Camborne 22 Wadebridge Camels 0

Camborne claimed the Cornwall Cup for the second time in three years with a dominant performance over last year's winners Wadebridge Camels at Penryn's Memorial Ground, writes Dick Straughan.

The Cherry and Whites rarely looked troubled against a Wadebridge side who have lost their way in recent weeks, due to player injuries and unavailability, and dominated the set piece throughout the game.

Camborne took the lead with a seventh minute Dave Mankee penalty and the fly-half then missed a 45 metre effort shortly afterwards as Wadebridge struggled at the breakdown.

The opening try came after 25 minutes as wing Rob Floyd claimed turnover ball on the Camels 10 metre line and broke down the right flank. 

He won the race to gather his well placed chip ahead and touched down for the opening try in the corner. Mankee converted.

It stayed 10-0 until half-time with Camborne prop Nigel Endean sin-binned for pulling down a rolling maul and Camels hooker Matt Ballard tackled into touch inches short of scoring a precious try for his team late in the half.

But the second half saw Camborne re-assert themselves with a series of powerful scrums close to the Camels line which eventually drew a penalty try award from referee Chris Newton. Mankee converted as Wadebridge prop Aiden Cullis was banished to the sin bin.

Midway through the half Wadebridge flanker Sam Stone knocked on with the line at his mercy after a period of attacking pressure from the Camels, but the game was wrapped up in stoppage time with a third Camborne try.

Scrum-half Jason Jackson attacked the narrow side from an attacking five metre scrum and squeezed in at the corner to complete a decisive victory.

It was a seventh Cornwall Cup success for Camborne who will now turn their attentions to winning promotion from South West One West.


Parma, Floyd, R.Kevern, Kenward, Johnson, Mankee, Jackson; Endean, Bartle, Hearn, Griffiths, Kemp, M.Goldsworthy, J.Goldsworthy, Roberts (capt)

Replacements – A.Kevern, Notman, Thirlby, Moore, Bone, Lawton

Tries – Floyd, Penalty, Jackson

Cons – Mankee (2)

Pen – Mankee

Wadebridge Camels

Pengelly, Rowe, Johns, Lees, Hawkey, Grubb, Collings; Treleaven, Ballard, Cullis, Hawkey, Scott, Grubb, Stone, Gynn

Replacements – West, Blackmore, Taylor, Yelland, Swabey, Taylo

Referee – Chris Newton (Somerset RRS)

Read more from West Briton

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters