Login Register

CLOSED: Vote for the West Briton Community Awards shortlist

By West Briton  |  Posted: September 19, 2013

Vote for the West Briton Community Awards shortlist
Comments (0)

NB Voting for the West Briton Community Awards Shortlist has now CLOSED.

THE nominations for the first West Briton Community Awards ceremony are in and now is your chance to choose who reaches the shortlist.

Scores of nominations have poured into the West Briton and you get to choose the finalists for each of the 11 categories.

Local people who endeavour to improve the community will be rewarded at the inaugural ceremony at Falmouth Hotel on November 1.

Editor of the West Briton Richard Best said: “It is great that our readers have got into the spirit of these awards and came up with some thoughtful nominations. We hope that they will get involved again and help with the shortlisting process.

“The organisation for the event itself is shaping up very nicely. We are delighted that Truro School, Specsavers and Falmouth Hotel have all come on board to back what we are sure will become an annual fixture in the calendar.”

The nominations for the shortlist are:

Teacher of the Year

Carol Butler – pastoral care teacher at Penair School who goes above and beyond the call of duty to make pupils feel special.

David Rayner – former teacher at Kehelland School who helped set up a newspaper club and saw pupils win film awards for their work.

Gerald Truan – his 38-year career at Tregony School left many pupils feeling inspired.

Jim Beech – Richard Lander School’s fundraising teacher whose events inspire pupils.

Bravery Award

Ingrid Loyau-Kennnett – the Helston heroine who stood up to the men accused of murdering Drummer Lee Rigby in Woolwich, London.

Matt Vernon – dived more than a dozen times in unsuccessful attempts to rescue Ann Pewter, who was trapped inside her vehicle after it rolled off the King Harry Ferry slipway.

Perranporth RNLI team – makes hundreds of rescues each year, having recently pulled 15 people out of the sea in one day.

Morwenna Foster – suffers from cystic fibrosis and received a double lung transplant earlier this year and is going to host an event encouraging people to join the donors’ list.

Sports Person of the Year

Mandy Kimmins – runs and promotes women’s, disabled people’s and children’s football clubs in St Agnes.

Matthew Stone – helps promote the Gyllyngvase Surf Life Saving Club by getting young people involved.

Mike Young – secretary of Penryn FC who has been involved for many years.

Steve Lack – over the past few years he has helped revive Perranporth Tennis Club, and promotes the sport by getting local schools involved.

Community Champion

Anne Spearman – involved in a range of committees dedicated to promoting and enhancing Troon.

Janey Davis – heads up the Let’s Improve Kimberley Park group in Falmouth, fundraising to improve a play area.

Jane Blunsden – campaigned to make an area of Trevaunance Cove open to the public and formed a committee to look after and maintain Down Quay Gardens.

Brian Chappelle – community bus driver for 29 years in Porthtowan who was only kept off the job for a few weeks following a triple heart bypass, and still volunteers his time to take people to hospital.

Good Neighbour

Sylvia Dunstan – cared for both her parents with dementia and has never turned down a request for help from her neighbours.

Jan Plummer – for years has helped keep Mount Ambrose free from litter, going out in all weathers to keep it tidy.

Geffrey Wheeler – no job is too big for Geffrey, who helps his neighbours shop, takes them to hospital and fixes problems around the home.

Brian Beacon – helps his neighbours, who are disabled, at any time of day, including in the middle of the night and with a smile on his face.

Charity Hero

Terry and Maureen Prisk – have run a line-dancing club at St Day for the past 12 years, raising more than £30,000 for charities.

Shaun Pascoe – former RAF member and visionary behind the Turn to Starboard charity, which helps servicemen or women by taking them sailing.

Rob Hosking – Redruth firefighter who raises cash for charity through fundraising events.

Cornwall Air Ambulance – the county’s lifesaving rescue helicopter that is funded by donations alone.

Invictus Trust – which is campaigning to improve teenage mental health services in Cornwall.

Young Carer of the Year

Jake and Zack Cooper – brothers who help their mother who has epilepsy, and who helped a homeless man in the street who suffered a seizure.

Luke Downing – looks after his grandmother, Millie White, who has limited mobility, by doing her shopping and helping with chores.

Toby Julyan – helps look after his disabled brother while maintaining a positive attitude at school.

Child of Courage

Sophie DeSwarte – suffers chronic renal failure and contracted pneumonia last year but is always very cheerful and described as an inspiration.

Rupert Mills – helps to look after his brother, Dennis, who is terminally ill.

Jemma Webb – rushed to Bristol Hospital and then Great Ormond Street after her heart failed and, after having a heart transplant, has now raised £26,000 for the two hospitals.

Aiden Pellow – has fought leukaemia twice. He was first diagnosed at the age of 2, the disease having returned when he was 11.

Health Worker of the Year

Hannah Bardon – former health worker for Taylor’s health care, who discovered a lump in her client’s breast which turned out to be cancer; the client is convinced Hannah saved her life.

Lynne Kirkham – health specialist worker with the Cornwall and Isles of Scilly Primary Care Trust who is always very friendly and travelled to Haiti to help in the crisis.

Perinatal Mental Health Team – the Cornwall and Isles of Scilly Primary Care Trust recently opened the first perinatal unit in Truro.

Use the form printed here to nominate who you would like to see in the final round.

Then a judging panel will choose who will win each category.

NB Voting for the West Briton Community Awards Shortlist has now CLOSED.

Read more from West Briton

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters