Login Register

Barry to captain Cornish Pirates for first time in derby clash

By Rhod_Mitchell  |  Posted: March 28, 2014

Comments (0)

The Cornish Pirates will be led into battle tomorrow by second row Darren Barry as they travel across the Tamar to face Plymouth Albion at Brickfields in the Greene King Championship (3pm).

It is the first time Barry has captained the team and he takes over from another Bristolian, Chris Morgan, who is ruled out through injury.

As the Pirates look to make it ten wins in a row against their Devon rivals Director of Rugby Ian Davies is forced to make several changes in the pack following last Sunday`s win over Nottingham.

Jack Andrew switches to his more familiar loosehead role in the front row with Ben Prescott returning at tighthead and Tom Channon getting the nod at hooker over Rob Elloway.

In the second row Laurie McGlone returns from injury to partner Barry with Jake Parker and former Albion man Aaron Carpenter coming into the back row.

On the bench there is a return for flanker Joel Conlon following his England Under-20 Six Nations duties.

Plymouth Albion have made eight changes to the side that was well beaten at Rotherham.

In the backs centre Ben Woods returns from injury with Chris Elder dropping to the bench.

Jamie Davies, who made an impact off the bench last weekend, is handed the number 11 jersey while it is all change at half back.

Top points scorer Declan Cusack is restored at fly half and he is partnered by the recalled Paul Rowley.

The most interesting selection is at hooker where Fijian International Sam Matavesi will be making his first senior start in that position.

Canadian international Brett Beukeboom returns from injury in the second row, while flanker Eoghan Grace is another returning from injury.

Cornish Pirates:- Bodilly, Holland, Riley, Fatialofa, Moyle, Hallett, Kessell; 
Andrew, Channon, Prescott, McGlone, Barry (capt), Parker, Cheesman, Carpenter.

Replacements:- Elloway, Davies, Carrick Smith, Conlon, Duncan, Sinclair, Hendrickson

Plymouth Albion:- Mugford, Bowen, Woods, Howley-Berridge, Davies, Cusack, Rowley; Harrison, Matavesi, Fairbrother, Beukeboom, Ascroft-Leigh, Sean-Michael Stephen, Grace, Oakley (capt) 
Replacements:- McGregor, Morton, Rice, Tovey, Elder, Cushion, Arnott

Referee – D.Gamage (RFU)

Read more from West Briton

Do you have something to say? Leave your comment here...

max 4000 characters